UPSers win big at prestigious safe driving awards

National Safety Council recognizes the best of the best
Kaplan awards_ABOUT UPS artboards_1440x752.jpg Kaplan awards_ABOUT UPS artboards_768x760.jpg Kaplan awards_ABOUT UPS artboards_1023x960.jpg

What’s the story: UPS drivers hauled in seven of the 10 Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year Awards.

Professional drivers across the U.S. and Canada are nominated for the award every year – and the recognition doesn’t come easy. Drivers must have at least 15 consecutive years, or 250,000 consecutive miles driven, without a preventable accident.

Why it matters: UPSers are serious about safe driving. Nearly 10,600 Circle of Honor drivers earned the distinction by driving more than 25 years without an accident – that’s about 15 billion miles without so much as a fender-bender. The top seven of this elite group were awarded Safe Driver of the Year.

The secret to their success is a commitment to world-class training. In the U.S. alone, we invest more than $260 million a year on safety training at UPS. Our operations employees participate in five million hours of safety training per year.

Give them a shout out: Show appreciation for your safe UPS drivers here or use #ThankAUPSer.

Award Winner

Regional Category

Karl Peter


William Lazarski

East North Central

Kenny Gregory

East South Central

Samuel Stevens

Mid Atlantic

Roy (Rusty) Holloway


Barry Marr

West North Central

Javier Saldana

West South Central

Did you know: UPS is now hiring more than 100,000 seasonal workers for the holidays. Following last year’s holiday season, nearly 35,000 seasonal employees – more than a third – earned permanent positions with UPS.

That can be life-changing: The average pay for a UPS delivery driver is $95,000, or $112,000 for tractor-trailer drivers. Add in another $50,000 in health, welfare and pension contributions. After four years, drivers make an average of $42 per hour.

Learn more and start your UPS journey here.

Pictured left to right: National Safety Council President Lorraine M. Martin, Barry Marr, Samuel Stevens, Kenny Gregory, Bill Lazarski, Michael Phillips (2021 UPS Kaplan Award winner), and Rusty Holloway.


Related Stories